Close Encounters of the Cat Kind

Last night I thought maybe if I put out some extra food Fred wouldn’t wake me up so early.

This morning I realized I could build an entire Devil’s Tower out of tuna in my living room and that cat would still be biting my toes at 5:30 a.m.

If the aliens do come, they can have ’em.

12 Responses to “Close Encounters of the Cat Kind”

  1. Penny Says:

    that is the funniest and coolest picture of fred ever! as soon as i saw it and figured out what the hell it was, i started laughing my ass off! fred is too funny!

  2. carolyn Says:

    ooooo scary cat eyes!!!

  3. abbey Says:

    cats don’t get daylight savings time switch, either.

  4. Dagny Says:

    Fred is related to Boris except Boris likes to press his wet nose against my face. I don’t think I would give him away but sometimes I would like to lock him in a room by himself.

  5. SpaceCase Says:

    My monitor is set super dark, so when I leaned in to see the picture it *freaked me out.* Great shot!

  6. laurie Says:

    Daylight Standard Time has totally screwed up the herd at Chez Spinster as well… now we’re all up at 4:30 instead of 5:30. At this rate, we’ll be waking up for breakfast before even going to bed. Damn cats.

  7. Gwen Says:

    Paddington also doesn’t get daylight savings time, which is why I was up at 6:15 this morning…grrr. (I know, I know, that’s still late for most of you… but when your standard workday is 9:30 to 7:30, that’s early.)

  8. Gloria Says:

    I wish I had a solution for you, but I don’t. At all. But your cat is so cute, you never would let aliens take him.

  9. Urs Says:

    have you considered closing your bedroom door at night?

  10. la.dauphine Says:

    In Make magazine this month there are instructions on how to create a timed cat feeder out of an old VCR. Maybe worth doing for those nighttime snacks?

  11. ddj Says:

    I’m with Urs. Closing the door might help on this one.

    Very cool picture! Usually when you see pictures of cats their eyes are all lit up from the flash. Not so here.

  12. Dagny Says:

    I have tried closing the door. Then you just have to put the pillow over your head at night because you cannot go to sleep due to the incessant rattling of the door. This is caused by a cat sticking its paw under it who just doesn’t understand why it has been shut out of the room.

Comments are closed.