Project Craftway

Inspired by the ever-lovin’ craftiness of the designers on Project Runway (tonight’s episode? fashion + figure skating = pure genius!), I thought I’d share a little craftiness of my own.

For Christmas, I gave a few of my loved ones their own person wine journal box. And paired it with a wine course book. My favorites — either The Wall Street Journal Guide to Wine, or even better, the Windows on the World Complete Wine Course.

Ah, yuppie gifts, so fun! The lovely Laurie, who has a mind like a steel trap, has already memorized half the contents of the WOW course, which will come in very handy in Paris! And I have not heard from Jeff & Jen, but the quality of Jeff’s blog posts (three buttocks, ahem) leads me to believe they have been imbibing some of the good stuff recently.

See the pic of the outside of the box above. And if you look carefully, you’ll see the tail of the elusive sasCATch, who only comes out to stalk my toes and to get his belly rubbed. Oh, and to poop.

Back to crafting. All you do is get a photo storage box — I got that one from Aaron Brothers in a nice faux leather finish.

Then you write in nice pen on the separator cards that come with the box — “Reds,” “Whites,” “Dessert,” “Sparkling,” etc.

Then, on 4″ x 6″ blank white index cards, you print out the labels, which I made in Photoshop my very own self.

You can save the bigger image (click on the small one above to get the big one) and make them yourself! Although note that depending on how your printer is set up, you may want to rotate the image to the right to print (I had to do that on mine).

Anyhoo, what better gift for the yuppies you love most in your life! An excuse for them to get their Boozley McDrinkerson on, AND it’s educational!

I’ll toast to that.

9 Responses to “Project Craftway”

  1. Dagny Says:

    Lovely gift. A couple of years ago I gave my stepmother a wine journal along with a bottle of port from Trentadue (they do this chocolate port). I like this craftier version much better though.

    Oh, and so loving the figure skating theme on Project Runway. I knew that Emmet was going but kept secretly hoping that they would dump Santino with all his over-the-top creations.

  2. Gloria Says:

    That is so cute! I want one!! Except, for all the wine that I’ve drunk (drank? Did you know I got into a discussion with someone at the Gas Lite last week about proper past tenses?), and even the summer where I was supposed to learn more about wine, having, oh, an internship in a wine department, I remember nothing, except what I like. And even sometimes, I forget that.

    Maybe that’s the side effect of drinking too much.

  3. rg Says:

    excellent idea… may use that for a wedding gift for next weekend,

    thanks!

  4. Lori Says:

    Love the idea!! I think I might make a “coffee” one for my hubby–he’s always trying new coffees, forgets the names of the ones he hates and then buys them again so we can relive the “yuck”

  5. carolyn Says:

    so crafty! and useful! and alcoholic-inducing! wooo! 😉

  6. Sammy Says:

    Funny I got the same gift (french version) for my brother in law. He’s not a yuppie though, more like a scruffy musician who works for a winery. You know, a working class wine drinker.

  7. Crystal Says:

    I lov eit. What a great idea. I wonder if I could make a beer one for my redneck friends?

  8. SpaceCase Says:

    Brilliant! I gave Mr. M a wine book for Christmas, and this would be a perfect companion gift for his b-day. I foresee my purse filled with little cards everytime we go out for dinner.

  9. dan Says:

    nothing feels better than to receive a lovely home-made gift. it indicates the thought, compassion and care that a K-Mart gift certificate struggles to achieve on its own.

    “Boozley McDrinkerson” Thx. Filed for future use.

Comments are closed.