Party Like It’s 1999


Halloween ’99

This weekend I really did party like it was 1999 and I was 22 again. Only can I tell you that this 29-year-old body? Does not deal so well with 22-year-old partying. I am so tired. And I think I’m getting sick (whine).

When I was 22, my friend Katie joined me in NYC, and we found this tiny little sixth-floor walk-up (bathroom and kitchen shared a sink, the only shelf in the kitchen had to serve as both pot/pan storage AND a vanity, and both bedrooms shared one closet) on 14th and 1st (dangerously close to Beauty Bar).

We both worked at Morgan Stanley, both as assistants, both on a 7:00 a.m. start time. And yet somehow EVERY SINGLE NIGHT we were out until 4:00 a.m. We had getting ready down to a groggy 15-minute science and each kept our suit jackets on the back of our chairs at work so all we had to worry about was pants and a reasonably clean blouse. Yes, we were THAT CLASSY.

I have no idea how we did it. Really, I think it violated some laws of neuroscience and, I don’t know, maybe even physics! Why not! All I know is that in retrospect, it was WRONG. And yet so much fun.

Anyway, thank goodness I don’t have any photos of my more recent debauchery. Instead, I’m just including pictures of my halcyon days of partying in NY, when sprawling across friends and strangers or downing lemon drop shots were perhaps more age appropriate and definitely less painful the morning after.


A routine Wednesday night at our neighborhood pub, O’Hanlon’s. Egads, I wore that top out just two weekends ago!


I apparently had to be in EVERY PICTURE, even when there wasn’t room.

6 Responses to “Party Like It’s 1999”

  1. Dagny Says:

    Hmmm. Every time I think of Beauty Bar, I think of the West Coast version of it in the Mission. Thank you for reminding me that it originated in NYC.

    Part of the reason why I space my partying out these days is the discovery that the recovery time is much greater than when I was 22. Heck, when I was anything below 30. I have found that ideally, I should go out on Friday if I expect to be at work and alert on Monday. I need Saturday for the recovery. Sunday is for re-entry.

    Hats off to you and Gloria for living up to my dreams this past weekend.

  2. Gloria Says:

    Your hair! It’s so Audrey Tautou (sp? too lazy to look it up) in Amélie!

    Heh. I have more pictures. But no real incriminating ones. Unfortunately. And gosh, could some incriminating photos have been taken of either of us.

    (I really did consider taking pics of you and the short dude [as opposed to tall dude, you know, their new pseudonyms, until I think of something better] passed out on my couch, but I didn’t, because I thought better.)

  3. Sammy Says:

    Hangin’ out too much with Gloria, eh?

    And the hair – it IS sooo Tatou. Cute.

  4. carolyn Says:

    did you get a haircut? it’s supercute! oh duh, i just read your other comments. but seriously, it is.

    kysa and i spent many many many a night at the beauty bar (she lives a half block away)…

  5. ~drew emborsky~ Says:

    And it just keeps getting better!

  6. ddj Says:

    Very cute pics!

Comments are closed.